T20 World Cup 2024 Schedule: India vs Pakistan on June 9, Final on June 29

Explore the key moments of the T20 World Cup 2024 schedule unveiling, where the ICC unveils the much-anticipated lineup for the upcoming tournament.

In a significant announcement, the ICC has disclosed the groupings for the 2024 T20 World Cup, with a notable clash between India and Pakistan scheduled for New York. Group A features India alongside Pakistan, USA, Canada, and Ireland. Meanwhile, Group B includes England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, and Oman.

The allocation continues with New Zealand placed in Group C, competing against West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, and Papua New Guinea. Group D comprises South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, and Nepal.

India’s campaign kicks off on June 5 in New York against Ireland, followed by matches against Pakistan on June 9 and USA on June 12 at the same venue. The final group fixture against Canada is scheduled for June 15. The group stage spans from June 1 to June 18, followed by Super 8 matches from June 19 to June 24. Semifinals are slated for June 26-27, with the final scheduled for June 29. The first semifinal will be hosted in Guyana, the second in Trinidad, and the final in Barbados.

This edition introduces a new format, expanding the tournament from 16 to 20 teams. West Indies and the USA jointly host the event, and a notable change involves regional qualification tournaments replacing the previous global qualifier. Africa, Asia, and Europe secure two qualification spots each, while the Americas and East-Asia Pacific regions earn one spot each. The teams qualifying through this process include Ireland, Canada, Namibia, Scotland, Oman, Papua New Guinea, Uganda, and Nepal.

Contrasting the previous format featuring a global qualifier, Super 12 stage, and knockouts, the new structure incorporates two group stages involving 20 teams. The teams are divided into five groups of four, with the top two from each group advancing to the Super 8s. From there, the top two in each group proceed to the semifinals, marking a significant shift in the tournament’s dynamics.

T20 World Cup 2024 Teams and Groups

Group A: India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, USA

Group B: England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman

Group C: New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea

Group D: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal

T20 World Cup 2024 schedule

June 1, SaturdayUSA vs CanadaGroup ADallas
June 2, SundayWest Indies vs Papua New GuineaGroup CGuyana
June 2, SundayNamibia vs OmanGroup BBarbados
June 3, MondaySri Lanka vs South AfricaGroup DNew York
June 3, MondayAfghanistan vs UgandaGroup CGuyana
June 4, TuesdayEngland vs ScotlandGroup BBarbados
June 4, TuesdayNetherlands vs NepalGroup DDallas
June 5, WednesdayIndia vs IrelandGroup ANew York
June 5, WednesdayPapua New Guinea vs UgandaGroup CGuyana
June 5, WednesdayAustralia vs OmanGroup BBarbados
June 6, ThursdayUSA vs PakistanGroup ADallas
June 6, ThursdayNamibia vs ScotlandGroup BBarbados
June 7, FridayCanada vs IrelandGroup ANew York
June 7, FridayNew Zealand vs AfghanistanGroup CGuyana
June 7, FridaySri Lanka vs BangladeshGroup DDallas
June 8, SaturdayNetherlands vs South AfricaGroup DNew York
June 8, SaturdayAustralia vs EnglandGroup BBarbados
June 8, SaturdayWest Indies vs UgandaGroup CGuyana
June 9, SundayIndia vs PakistanGroup ANew York
June 9, SundayOman vs ScotlandGroup BAntigua and Barbuda
June 10, MondaySouth Africa vs BangladeshGroup DNew York
June 11, TuesdayPakistan vs CanadaGroup ANew York
June 11, TuesdaySri Lanka vs NepalGroup DLauderhill
June 11, TuesdayAustralia vs NamibiaGroup BAntigua and Barbuda
June 12, WednesdayUSA vs IndiaGroup ANew York
June 12, WednesdayWest Indies vs New ZealandGroup CTrinidad and Tobago
June 13, ThursdayEngland vs OmanGroup BAntigua and Barbuda
June 13, ThursdayBangladesh vs NetherlandsGroup DSaint Vincent and the Grenadines
June 13, ThursdayAfghanistan vs Papua New GuineaGroup CTrinidad and Tobago
June 14, FridayUSA vs IrelandGroup ALauderhill
June 14, FridaySouth Africa vs NepalGroup DSaint Vincent and the Grenadines
June 14, FridayNew Zealand vs UgandaGroup CTrinidad and Tobago
June 15, SsturdayIndia vs CanadaGroup ALauderhill
June 15, SaturdayNamibia vs EnglandGroup BAntigua and Barbuda
June 15, SaturdayAustralia vs ScotlandGroup BSaint Lucia
June 16, SundayPakistan vs IrelandGroup ALauderhill
June 16, SundayBangladesh vs NepalGroup DSaint Vincent and the Grenadines
June 16, SundaySri Lanka vs NetherlandsGroup DSaint Lucia
June 17, MondayNew Zealand vs Papua New GuineaGroup CTrinidad and Tobago
June 17, MondayWest Indies vs AfghanistanGroup CSaint Lucia
June 19, WednesdayA2 vs D1Group 2Antigua and Barbuda
June 19, WednesdayB1 vs C2Group 2Saint Lucia
June 20, ThursdayC1 vs A1Group 1Barbados
June 20, ThursdayB2 vs D2Group 1Antigua and Barbuda
June 21, FridayB1 vs D1Group 2Saint Lucia
June 21, FridayA2 vs C2Group 2Barbados
June 22, SaturdayA1 vs D2Group 1Antigua and Barbuda
June 22, SaturdayC1 vs B2Group 1Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
June 23, SundayA2 vs B1Group 2Barbados
June 23, SundayC2 vs D1Group 2Antigua and Barbuda
June 24, MondayB2 vs A1Group 1Saint Lucia
June 24, MondayC1 vs D1Group 1Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
June 26, WednesdayTBDSemi-final 1Guyana
June 27, ThursdayTBDSemi-final 2Trinidad and Tobago
June 29, SaturdayTBDFinalBarbados

Also read | Remarkable Journey Of Virat Kohli – India’s Cricketing Icon↗️

The current titleholders of the T20 World Cup, England, find themselves placed in Group B alongside their perennial rivals, Australia. In Group C, hosts West Indies, boasting a two-time championship record, share the stage with New Zealand. The inaugural match on June 1 in Dallas, Texas, will witness co-hosts USA facing off against Canada.

A total of 20 teams, organized into four groups of five, will engage in 55 matches throughout the T20 World Cup 2024. The subsequent Super Eight phase will see the top two teams from each group advancing, forming two groups of four teams each. The ensuing top two from each Super Eight group will secure spots in the semi-finals.

The group stage of the T20 World Cup 2024 is scheduled to unfold from June 1 to 18, followed by the Super Eight phase from June 19 to 24. Semifinals are set for June 26 and 27 in Guyana and Trinidad, respectively, while the grand finale will unfold on June 29 in Barbados.

For similar news update stay tuned and follow us on InstagramFacebook and Twitter

Category News : Cricket News | Sports News | National News | Celebrity News | Technology Updates

Hiren Chokshi


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button